GLUTEN FREE WHAT?!

I don’t know about all you other coeliacs / gluten intolerant people, but I have really struggled to find good and easy, gluten free take away. I have found myself less inclined to pop out for lunch during the week and I have noticed that the language barrier at cheaper eats is a big hurdle (gluten free what?!), making the task of picking up a quick feed on a week night almost impossible.

This was most definitely the case last night at a Japanese takeaway place in Subiaco. I was left a little red faced and not to mention hungry, after a gluten free altercation with the people behind the counter. I could tell they weren’t well versed on gluten free foods, especially when they said a big fat “NO!” when I asked to check the ingredients on the miso paste they use – I wonder what they were hiding in that backroom, it sounded suss.

On the other hand I do want to share a good experience I’ve had with Thai cuisine. Thai seems to be a great way to go for gluten free takeaway and I was pleasantly surprised when some friends and I ordered Tamarind Thai in Mt Hawthorn. The Menu has ‘gluten free’ scrawled across the front (big tick), and the lady taking our order was more than happy to point out the four menu items that contained gluten (I still double checked all dishes were gluten free at time of ordering). That FOMO (fear of missing out) feeling was nowhere to be seen… coeliac heaven!

I didn’t get any snaps of the food (we were too busy chomping it down!) but click on the image below to see a copy of the menu. The highlighted items are not gluten free.

Tamarind Thai menu, the highlighted items are NOT gluten free.

Tamarind Thai menu, the highlighted items are NOT gluten free.

4 thoughts on “GLUTEN FREE WHAT?!

    • Hi Beth,

      I thought the same thing, but I think they make their own sauces and their rice noodles don’t contain gluten.

      I would still check with the waitperson, or even better, the chef, before ordering your meal!

      X

      • I’d say go for it! Give them a call first and check if they have a good selection so you’re not disappointed.

        Let me know how you go 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

