A COELIAC’S FRENCH WONDERLAND

Over the weekend I was treated to another birthday celebration at one of Perth’s newest restaurants, Bistro Guillaume. Located just off the lobby at Crown Entertainment Complex, Bistro Guillaume instantly transports you to a French wonderland through its modern take on a quintessential French bistro.

The entry sets the tone, with its smashed plate chandelier hanging high enough to direct punters to the bright green doorway and into the restaurant’s impressive foyer. The staff greeted us almost immediately, held up only by one disgruntled guest blasting the maitre d’ because she couldn’t be accommodated (without a booking) in the packed restaurant – even I was shaking in my stilettos…that woman was cray!

We were soon seated and as we were still waiting on one person, we ordered drinks. I decided on a French Martini (when in Rome!), which was almost as good as the  best French martini I have had – it went down way too easy after a long week in the office!

French martini.

French martini.

A few martinis later and with our last guest now present, we began to order our meals. I called the restaurant a few days earlier and spoke to a manager who assured me that most menu items can be made gluten free and our waitperson confirmed this on the night. I was very confident that I would have a wide variety to choose from and I was right.

For entrée, I ordered half a dozen natural oysters and the Spanner Crab salad with avocado, cucumber and capsicum coulis. I absolutely love oysters, but unfortunately these ones didn’t seem to be shucked properly and I had to work hard to get them off the shell – this was a bit of a turn off.

The Spanner Crab on the other hand was delicious, I couldn’t fault it!

Oysters.

The oysters left a lot to be desired.

The delicious crab salad!

The Spanner Crab with avocado, cucumber and capsicum coulis.

Between entrée and main we were treated to Chinese New Year fireworks. I got so distracted by the spectacle happening outside the window that I subconsciously reached for the bread roll, so sneakily placed on my side plate. It wasn’t until my gluttonous side kicked in and I asked for the butter that I realised what I was doing…eeek! The butter saved me from eating the bread (I never thought I would hear myself say that!).  After this little incident it was hard to forget about the doughy fresh bread that I couldn’t eat, but thankfully it was nothing another French martini couldn’t fix!

It was then onto mains for which I ordered Chargrilled King Salmon with roast fennel, oyster mushroom, clams and beurre blanc. It was cooked perfectly and was a great gluten free choice. The serving was fairly big and after my entrée it was a struggle to finish it all.

Chargrilled king salmon.

Chargrilled king salmon.

When it came time to order desert, our waitperson explained that there were only two gluten free deserts, the sorbet and the fresh raspberry and rose macaron. With such a small selection to choose from, I was lucky that I already had my mind set on the macaron. It was like nothing I had seen before, a huge macaron with an amazing creamy centre. It was extremely sweet (even for me and my sweet loving tooth), but I would still recomend it to all you glutards!

THE macaron!

THE macaron!

All in all, the food was very nice however the service (especially the drink service) was not on par with that of neighboring restaurants Nobu and Rockpool. We found we drank less because our glasses weren’t filled regularly (first world problem, I know, I know!), and the significantly pricey Hennesy Paradis ordered by the males at our table was more expensive (and less quantity) than that served 20 metres away at Nobu, this was a bit disappointing.

Although I wouldnt rush back, I would recommend you try it at least once for the decor alone, oh and they cater very well to us coeliacs, which is a big plus in my book!

One thought on “A COELIAC’S FRENCH WONDERLAND

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

