GLUTEN FREE PARTY FOOD: MEATBALLS!

Friday marked my one week anniversary of gluten free (GF) eating – Hooray I survived!

In preparation for my birthday celebrations (which I dragged out all weekend long!), my mum and I put our heads together and came up with some gluten free party food ideas – no small task for two people who are very new to GF eating! We decided on bite size meatballs and ordered other gluten free products from all over Perth to get us through the festivities. I will post a full re-cap on all the gluten free treats we were munching on later in the week.

I have to say, I was very skeptical of how the gluten free version of our family meatball recipe would turn out. However I was pleasantly surprised with the end result, they tasted exactly the same and maybe even better because I didn’t feel sick after eating them! As the gluten free meatballs made the cut, I am pleased to share the recipe with you here!

WHAT YOU NEED

  • A large bowl
  • A frying pan
  • Olive oil
  • 1 egg (I used fresh organic eggs from our farm, but if you can’t get your hands on organic eggs, at least make sure they are free range!)
  • 3 tbls GF bread crumbs (I used Lifestyle Bakery from Woolworths)
  • 3 tbs parmesan
  •  A handful of parsley
  •  Salt and pepper to taste
  • 750g of mince (I used a combination of veal and pork).
  • 1 tbs GF self-raising flour (I used Organ, also from Woolworths)
  • 2 tsp MasterFoods All Purpose Seasoning (Spicy)

HOW TO MAKE GREAT MEATBALLS

1. Whisk your eggs in a large bowl.

2. Add bread crumbs, parmesan, salt, pepper and parsley, to make a paste.

Mix the paste.

Mix the paste.

3. Add the mince and mix the paste through, ensure it is evenly spread.
Tip: wear two pairs of latex gloves when combining mince and paste, it can get quite cold on your fingers!

Mix the mince with the paste.

Mix the mince with the paste.

4. Sprinkle self-raising flour and all purpose seasoning and mix with mince.

5. Once you have thoroughly mixed the paste and mince together, begin rolling the meatballs.
Tip:It is a good idea to roll them tight (and bite size for your party guests), so they don’t split open in the pan.

6. Coat the meatballs in gluten free bread crumbs (this is an optional step, I actually found them really nice without the crumbs on the outside too!).

7. Place a liberal amount of olive oil in the pan (around 2cm high) and heat.

8. Once the oil is very hot, place your meatballs in and cook until they are golden brown.

Cook your meatballs in oil in a hot frying pan.

Cook your meatballs in oil in a hot frying pan.

9. Serve with a dipping sauce of your choice! I made the chili jam from the Must Eat cookbook, which work perfectly!

Voila! Gluten free meatballs!

Voila! Gluten free meatballs!

One thought on “GLUTEN FREE PARTY FOOD: MEATBALLS!

  1. Pingback: LET’S PARTY, GLUTEN FREE STYLE | Queen B of Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

